Death of innovation labs

  • Posted by Gerhard Pramhas
  • On 19. April 2021

Beitragsbild-InnovationLabs

Since the turn of the millennium a boom has taken place regarding innovation labs in the industry. Every enterprise founded an innovation lab. Since then a lot has happened. The review is disillusioning. Read more about the balancing act between success and failure in innovation labs in this blog post.

In the recent decades a lot of innovation labs caught attention with startups, ideas and innovative approaches in the industry. Now is the time to reverberate and look at the stories of these innovation labs. And here the success stories are clearly outnumbered by failures and bankruptcies, because since 2000, 52 % of the newly founded innovation labs have merged with other labs, closed or gone bankrupt.

Factors for the success of innovation labs

Of course, as it is often the case in life, there is not one formula for success and innovations to go through the roof. If one wants to measure success and failure by 3 factors, these are the ones that ultimately make the difference:

  1. People:

The acting people are the most important part regarding innovation. No matter how much money you put into an organisation, a start-up, a university or other projects, if you do not have the right people with the right mindset, the outcome will be bad. You certainly know examples for this.

  1. Setting

An important part of innovation is the setting. Suppliers, consumers and competitors expedite innovation or are even responsible for its emergence.

  1. Focus on the aim

Innovation has to make money as soon as possible. Everything else is called research.

What do you think about it? I would like to here about your opinion and experience! You can contact me by phone (+43 676 9560164), via e-mail (gerhard@pramhas.eu) or use the contact form.

0 Comments

Tod der Innovation-Labs

  • von Gerhard Pramhas
  • am 11. April 2021

Beitragsbild-InnovationLabs

Seit der Jahrtausendwende gab es in der Industrie einen regelrechten Boom an Innovation-Labs. Jedes Unternehmen, das etwas auf sich hielt, gründete – evtl. auch in Kooperation – ein Innovation-Lab. Seither ist viel passiert. Die Rückschau fällt ernüchternd aus. Lesen Sie hier mehr über die Gradwanderung zwischen Erfolg und Misserfolg in Innovation-Labs.

In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten haben einige Innovation-Labs in der Industrie mit Neugründungen, Ideen und innovativen Ansätzen aufhorchen lassen. Jetzt ist es Zeit zu reflektieren und sich die Stories dieser Innovation-Labs genauer anzusehen. Und hier werden die Success Stories klar von Misserfolg und Pleiten übertroffen, denn seit dem Jahr 2000 wurden 52% der neu gegründeten Innovation-Labs mit anderen Labs zusammengelegt, geschlossen oder gingen bankrott.

Faktoren für den Erfolg von Innovation-Labs

Selbstverständlich gibt es auch hier wie so oft im Leben nicht die eine Formel, mit der der Erfolg hereinbricht und Innovationen durch die Decke gehen. Möchten man aber Erfolg und Misserfolg an 3 Faktoren messen, sind es diese, die den Ausschlag letztendlich geben:

  1. Personen:

Die handelnden Personen sind das Um und Auf in Hinblick auf die Innovation. Sie können noch so viel Geld in eine Organisation, in eine Start Up Szene, in eine Universität oder sonstige Vorhaben stecken, fehlen die richtigen Personen mit dem Zug zum Tor, kommt so gut wie nichts raus. Beispiele dafür kennen Sie bestimmt.

  1. Umfeld:

Eine wesentliche Quelle der Innovation ist das Umfeld. Lieferanten, Kunden und Mitbewerber sind das, was eine Innovation vorantreibt, schärft oder überhaupt erst entstehen lässt.

  1. Zug zum Tor:

Innovation muss Geld verdienen. Und zwar sofort. Alles andere ist Forschung.

Wie sehen Sie das? Ich freue mich über Ihre Meinung und Erfahrungen dazu! Kontaktieren Sie mich gerne telefonisch unter +43 676 9560164, per E-Mail unter gerhard@pramhas.eu  oder benutzen Sie das Kontaktformular.

0 Comments